Downloading Stanford Eclipse For Mac Lion OS X 10.7

22 Oct

I have a Mac Lion OS (version 10.7.2) and I had a very hard time figuring out how to get Eclipse to work (it kept crashing). It took me a while to figure out that the download included on the Stanford course Software section is outdated for 10.7. If you have a newer mac, make sure to download the version listed on the official course page. Make sure to check out the “Software” section!

21 Responses to “Downloading Stanford Eclipse For Mac Lion OS X 10.7”

  1. Holly November 19, 2011 at 5:39 pm #

    Thanks for this blog posting, I was having the same issue!

  2. Eelco van Iperen December 17, 2011 at 1:30 pm #

    Thanks! I was looking for this as well! 🙂

  3. Polo December 20, 2011 at 2:24 pm #

    Thanks for the advice. You have saved me soo much frustration. lol. I have been learning programming in my own time for the past 3 months using books and online tutorials. I have recently decided to do something a bit more formal when I stumbled across the Stanford online learning page. Like you I have also found Iphone programming a bit hard to start with.

  4. iMacAnge January 24, 2012 at 6:55 am #

    That sounds cool, I am having the same problem but now the link you’re giving is dead. It says Error 404, page not found.

    Do you have another link?

  5. iMacAnge January 24, 2012 at 7:38 am #

    Ok, I found it here: http://www.cs.umd.edu/eclipse/EclipseTutorial/Software/eclipse-SDK-3.7-macosx-cocoa-x86_64.tar

    Tks for the site, it’s exactly what I needed as I just started to do the stanford course on iTunes U.

  6. Kevin S. January 26, 2012 at 12:24 pm #

    Good lord, I’ve been racking my brains with this one for days… THANKS!

  7. rae2229 February 6, 2012 at 8:49 am #

    Thanks everyone! That’s s huge help!

  8. Guy February 7, 2012 at 5:32 am #

    Your a champion! I was looking for this everywhere!

  9. Holly March 28, 2012 at 5:23 pm #

    Hi Natasha,

    When you were doing the Programming Methodology class, did you ever do any of the assignments in the The Art and Science of Java. An Introduction To Computer Science book? I’m having trouble figuring out how to set up a project (class? or??) to complete the exercises in the book, and hoping you know how to do it (or have a url of a site that explains how to do it). Thanks! (P.S. saw that comment from that jerk, glad you put him in his place!)

  10. jash June 8, 2012 at 5:47 pm #

    thank you, i was breaking my head trying to download the old one.

  11. Lee Springer June 27, 2012 at 10:07 am #

    Hi All.
    I too am having the same issue with downloading the latest version of Eclipse. Unfortunately the links to Stanfords download page do not seem to be working 😦
    Would anyone be kind enough to send a copy my way?
    Thanks!

    • Lee Springer June 27, 2012 at 10:15 am #

      The Best way to share the DMG download may be uploading Eclipse and all of it’s contents to http://ge.tt

      BTW i’m thumbing through your blog/site. LOVE IT!

  12. Andy July 15, 2012 at 8:43 pm #

    Thanks this is so greatly appreciated!!

  13. Bernice August 13, 2012 at 3:55 am #

    I just got a mac for my birthday and although i still have a pc I was wondering would you say it was better to do the eclipse on the mac or the pc? Because I have to say I don’t want to download it and then it doesn’t work or something?
    Thank you so much.

    • Natasha Murashev August 14, 2012 at 10:20 pm #

      I personally develop only on the mac, so I have no experience with a pc…

  14. Pedro October 18, 2012 at 4:04 pm #

    Natasha, you’re a life saver! Thanks so much for your tip. It actually saved me time and patience. I was already beginning to flip out!

Leave a Reply

