Hello world!

22 Oct

I finally decided to learn to program. After checking out a bunch of available resources, I’ve decided to go through the Stanford School of Engineering amazing Introduction to Computer Science class. So far, I am extremely impressed with the class, mostly because it includes lectures, handouts, assignments, tests, everything!

And unlike some of the other classes I’ve taken, it doesn’t begin by putting in 1+1 into a terminal. It starts by teaching you a simple “Karel the Robot” program, in which you get a robot to walk around in a grid and drop diamonds named Beepers. It is very concrete and fun for a first time programmer.

However, I do need some support, so I’m starting this blog to keep me motivated through all the hard programming problems.

3 Responses to “Hello world!”

  1. DatingSauce.com (@datingsauce) October 26, 2011 at 12:18 am #

    okie chica!! I am so glad you’re doing it! get all the creative juices of your left brain flowing!

  2. nicolas September 15, 2012 at 7:45 am #

    Hello Natasha !

    Thanks fo sharing and congrats 😉
    I’m just starting the CS106a by myself.
    How long did it take for you to complete the class ?

    • Natasha Murashev September 16, 2012 at 7:33 am #

      Hi Nicolas,

      It took me about 3 months to finish this, so it takes a while. The key is to keep going no matter how stuck you are. You can do it!

      Happy Learning!
      Natasha

Leave a Reply

