If You Love Learning, Coding Is For You

12 Jan

When I graduated college with a Psychology major and started working for real-world companies, I found it extremely exciting… but only in the very first year of working at a company. I soon realized that I enjoyed the first year a lot more than any time after at the company because I was learning.


I LOVE learning, and it is something I’m really good at. In fact, my job up to the age of 22 was to learn. Yet, after about a year at any company, the learning curve starts to even out, and many companies don’t offer opportunities that will keep you on a steep learning curve – you either stay at the job you’re at or get a promotion within the same department you already know. If you’re like me, and get bored easily if you’re not always learning, then I hope you learn to code.

One of the most exciting (and perhaps overwhelming) lessons I’m learning while learning to code is that in coding, there is ALWAYS more to learn. And the stuff you need to learn is HARD and CHALLENGING. I will never be bored with coding, especially while trying to keep up with an industry that keeps changing all the time.

Anyway, I’m pretty excited to have found a challenge that can keep me learning forever (and more), and if you love learning, I hope you start learning to code 🙂

2 Responses to “If You Love Learning, Coding Is For You”

  1. Andy April 12, 2012 at 5:17 pm #

    Hey– I’m in the same boat right now. Just out of college myself (graduated last June), an economics major but working with a lot of industrial psychologists. I started picking up CS106A during the fall, but started to peter out as work picked up. However, recently I’ve felt like I haven’t been challenged like I was in college. I got weeded out early on in the engineering program because of the level of competition, and I felt kind of bitter about it, but now I’m realizing how much I really did enjoy puzzling out tough problems. I’m into languages, and I’ve been learning Korean for the last several years, and more and more i’m finding coding to be extremely similar.

    Anyways, I don’t know where my comment was going, but suffice it to say, I’m really glad to find out there’s someone else like me out there. Keep on keeping on. Now, time to puzzle my way through Breakout… (and I’ll try not to peek at your solutions)

    • Natasha Murashev April 12, 2012 at 6:18 pm #

      It’s too bad Universities keep thinking weeder classes are the way to go. Unfortunately, CS106A is one of these classes. Once you get past Breakout, the rest is pretty easy, so you’re almost there!

      The only University that seems to be doing this right and actually working to attracting beginners instead of scaring them away is Harvey Mudd: http://workshops.railsbridge.org/2011/12/doing-it-right-harvey-mudds-gender-balanced-cs-program/.

      The only thing I can tell you is keep learning!!! It’s too easy to fall into the comfortable corporate 9-5 lifestyle that just doesn’t challenge you and let your life just slip by in a daze.

Leave a Reply

