Berkeley Course: Learn Agile Development With Ruby On Rails, Github, Cucumber, RSpec, SimpleCov, Pivotal Tracker, and Heroku!!!

24 Jan

I can hardly contain my excitement right now!!! Yesterday, NatashaTheRobot reader Manoj left a comment on my post to check out the Berkeley Software Engineering for Software as a Service course. At first, I was put off by the title of this course, but as I looked deeper into it this morning, it turned out to be exactly what I was looking for! I’ve been learning Ruby on my own for the past month, and the biggest thing I’m learning is that there is a lot more to learn…


I wanted to move on to Ruby on Rails right away, but there is a lot for me to learn about what a framework is as a start. I’m currently playing around with Sinatra, a really lightweight Ruby framework, and hope to move on to Ruby on Rails.

I’ve also been checking out some Ruby developer job postings to see what I need to learn if I wanted to work as a developer, and in one listing, you had to solve a problem using Rspec in order to apply. I looked around to see what Rspec is, but found it a bit confusing. That is why I’m so excited to see this Berkeley course that teaches you the full agile development cycle.

Anyway, check out the video introduction for this course from the professors and join me if you’re interested 🙂

6 Responses to “Berkeley Course: Learn Agile Development With Ruby On Rails, Github, Cucumber, RSpec, SimpleCov, Pivotal Tracker, and Heroku!!!”

  1. Manoj (@xcess_denied) January 24, 2012 at 10:42 am #

    True, even I am waiting for the class to begin. In case you want to learn Ruby, you could try the following resources too :
    1) http://rubymonk.com/ (which is an interactive learning) and
    2) http://rubykoans.com/ (which uses running test , watch them fail and write the ruby code to fix them)

    • Natasha Murashev January 24, 2012 at 10:46 am #

      I’ve been taking a course from rubylearning.org for the past few weeks and building a few tools to test my ruby skills.

      Thanks for explaining what rubykoans are – I’ve looked at that website a few times, but was completely confused.

  2. DM January 24, 2012 at 11:55 pm #

    *ahem* BerkEley *ahem* 😉

    • Natasha Murashev January 25, 2012 at 9:07 am #

      haha… clearly that is not where I went to school. Corrected it 🙂

  3. Danny Garcia September 18, 2012 at 12:42 pm #

    Has anyone taken this course that could provide feedback? I’ve signed up for this course via http://edx.org and would appreciate some feedback if anyone has taken it. Thanks.

    • Natasha Murashev September 18, 2012 at 5:43 pm #

      I watched the first few lectures, but wasn’t a fan… It seemed too general. Nevertheless, you should totally at least start. It’s free, so there is no negative side. If you like it, stick to it, if not, find something else!

Leave a Reply

