Cost Of 4 Year CS Degree: $0

30 Sep

I’m pretty angry after reading this anti self-learning article by a Northwestern School of Engineering professor Mark Werwath, in which Werwath claims that Dev Bootcamp and other similar program graduates will not be able to have long-term careers as software engineers.


Perhaps I’m just taking this way too personally, since part of the anger comes from me being a graduate of Northwestern University (class of 2008). It is really personally upsetting to me to see this type of attitude from a place I trusted 3 years of my life to.

Instead of being happy and excited that more people are getting into his field, this professor claims we won’t be able to succeed. This is exactly the kind of attitude that turned me off from majoring in computer science in the first place.

These type of programs focus more on creating a competitive environment that makes computer science an “elite” sport that only a few can enjoy versus something that is accessible to everyone.

Even the online Stanford course I took was a weeder class, where the assignments were so difficult, they were meant to “weed out” the weak students.

Everyone I met from Dev Bootcamp was learning programming to change their life, and because they absolutely loved it. During some pair programming sessions, me and my partner were laughing the whole time. If you ask me, this is a way better way to be introduced to programming. We are all passionate beginners who will continue learning every single day because we love it. I’m really not sure why Professor Werwath just assumes we’ll stop learning the day we leave Dev Bootcamp.

Professors like this one is also why I’m so excited to see posts like this one, which outline how to get a 4-year Computer Science degree for the nice price-tag of $0.

To nay-sayers like Professor Werwath, I’m happy to prove you wrong. For all of you out there who are taking charge of your life and learning to program because you love it, happy learning!

5 Responses to “Cost Of 4 Year CS Degree: $0”

  1. 8aves September 30, 2012 at 12:24 pm #

    take that !!

  2. Jenna October 6, 2012 at 12:19 am #

    You’re awesome!! Love this post.

  3. Jenna October 6, 2012 at 12:24 am #

    I was actually thinking of switching my major to CS in college, but was turned off by how extremely competitive it was. I get it – the real-world is competitive – but if I’m paying for this college education i should be able to choose which subject to major in. To become a CS major at my college, I had to take the toughest classes and pretty much ace them all for me to get into the CS program. Apparently they turn most people away from the CS program. I was at the point in my life where I felt like I have already competed a lot in other academic areas and no longer felt like putting more effort in competing even more.

    • Natasha Murashev October 6, 2012 at 7:35 am #

      Thanks for sharing Jenna. I didn’t even consider a CS degree, mostly b/c I don’t enjoy the intense competition involved. I like to compete with myself, but when I have to deal with professors who just want to look smart and fail their students instead of teaching them, that’s just not my thing. It’s really too bad, b/c this stuff can be soooo much fun in real life.

  4. andrew ferrarone July 27, 2015 at 9:29 pm #

    Yeah I agree with you. Whether you graduate from DevCamp or from college, the technology is always going to be changing. The good programmers will never stop learning and will stay ahead, whereas the complacent ones will fall behind and become outdated. This is always the case in every career that anyone embarks on, it doesnt matter where you get your knowledge from, as long as you stay hungry. Its funny that that guy thinks that getting a 4 year degree is that much better. When I was in college we had to take so many classes that didnt apply to our major or career and it was a waste of time and money. Getting skills and moving into the workforce is where you truly learn and apply your skills anyways. Some of the best programmers I know never graduated from college.

Leave a Reply

